skip to Main Content
Contact us today at

26th Annual Scholarship Fundraiser, May 12, 2001

Back to Secure Our Future
Saturday, May 12, 2001 at the Fairmont Miramar Hotel, Santa Monica, California

Community Service Awards/Honorees

  • Anita DeFrantz, Esq., President, Amateur Athletic Foundation and Member, International Olympic Committee
  • Kika Keith, Founder/Executive Director, Youth Empowerment Center for Creative Achievement
  • Bruce Brodie, Esq., Head Deputy, Office of the Alternate Public Defender & Bar Review InstructorGlynn and Jo-An Turman, Founders, Camp Gid D Up and IX Winds Ranch Foundation

Scholarship Recipients

  • Joy Roberts (USC Law Center)
  • Isis Mancil (Howard University School of Law)
  • Renee L. Williams (USC Law School)
  • Carmen Snuggs (Loyola Law School)

Major Sponsors

  • Underwriters: Hancock, Rothert, & Burshoft LLP;
  • Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLP;

Additional Sponsors

  • Benefactors: Anheuser Busch Companies;
  • Arnold & Porter;
  • Barnes-Sankin Charitable Gift Fund;
  • Vera Brown-Curtis;
  • The Law Offices of Ephriam and Makupson;
  • Kaiser Permanente;
  • Northern Trust;
  • Northrup Grumman;
  • Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP;
  • The Walt Disney Company;
  • Ronald N. Wilson & Associates


BWLF President Brenda Johns Penny
BWL, Inc President Nedra E. Austin
Scholarship Selection Committee Lynne Hobbs and Leslie Kelley
Silent Auction Committee Michelle Kazadi and Dawn Weekes-Glenn
Mistress/Master of Ceremonies Dawnn Lewis