skip to Main Content
Contact us today at

32nd Annual Fundraiser, May 5, 2007

Community Couture: Designing our Future, Remembering Our Past
Saturday – May 5, 2007 at the Marriott Marina del Rey

 Community Service Awards/Honorees

  • Dress for Success – Janet Lavender, Executive Director
  • HerShe Group Foundation, Inc. – Kenadie Cobbin Richardson, Founder and Executive Director
  • Sandra Evers-Manly, Vice President, Corporate Responsibility – Northrop Grumman & President, Northrop Grumman Foundation

Scholarship Recipients

  • Siannah Collado (Southwestern Law School)
  • Tyra Hughley (USC Law Center)
  • Mr. Jaaye Person-Lynn (Howard University School of Law)
  • Lauren Randolph (Pepperdine University School of Law)

Major Sponsors

  • Platinum Sponsor: Charlene Usher/Usher Law Group ($10,000);
  • Silver Sponsors: Northrop Grumman; Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLP; Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLC

Additional Sponsors

Sidley Austin, LLP; McBirney & Chuck, A.P.C.; Bergman & Dacey; Consumer Attorneys of Los Angeles; Dominique Sheldon, Esq.; Cecelia Andrews; Waltereise Lamb-Stanzell; Universal Studios; Warner Bros.


BWLF President Brenda Johns Penny
BWL, Inc President Syna N. Dennis
Scholarship Selection Committee Nicole B. Hancock
Silent Auction Committee Tara L. Canady
Event Planning Committee Sandra D. Anderson; Vera Brown-Curtis; Tara L. Canady; Patsy J. Cobb; Carla Durham Pittman; Nedra Jenkins; Brenda Johns Penny; Wilma J. Pinder; Yvette D. Roland, Dianne Baquet Smith
Invocation/Benediction Rev. Lesa Renae Smith (Holman United Methodist Church)
Mistress/Master of Ceremonies Terry Elaine Scott