skip to Main Content
Contact us today at

31st Annual Scholarship Fundraiser, May 20, 2006

Footprints to the Future … The Power of One” (Remembering Rachel D. Young, Esq.)
Saturday, May 20, 2006 at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Community Service Awards/Honorees

  • Justice Candace Cooper, Presiding Justice, Division 8 (Court of Appeal, Second Appellate District)
  • Laurie Robinson, Esq., Assistant General Counsel, CBS Broadcasting (Founder & CEO, Corporate Counsel Women of Color)
  • Kriss Turner, Film & TV Writer Hit Movie “Something New”
  • Scholarship Recipients
  • Lyndsey Kuykendall (Howard University School of Law)
  • Kristi D.A. Matthews (UCLA School of Law)
  • Stephanie Mothershed (Whittier Law School)
  • Lauren Randolph (Pepperdine University School of Law)
  • Maya Rupert (Boalt Hall School of Law)

Major Sponsors

  • Amgen


BWLF President Brenda Johns Penny
BWL, Inc President Linda Rosborough
Scholarship Selection Committee Karen E. Pointer and Lorna C. Washington
Silent Auction Committee Tangela Terry; Tara L. Canady; Gilda Clift Breland
Event Planning Committee Vera Brown-Curtis; Tara L. Canady; Patsy J. Cobb; Carla Durham Pittman; Nedra Jenkins; Brenda Johns Penny; Wilma J. Pinder; Yvette D. Roland, Dianne Baquet Smith; Tangela Terry
Invocation/Benediction Rev. Lesa R. Smith
Mistress/Master of Ceremonies Leslie Sykes, (KABC 7 News Anchor/Reporter)