skip to Main Content
Contact us today at

30th Annual Scholarship Fundraiser, May 21, 2005

Reflections from the Past: A Mirror to the Future
Saturday, May 21, 2005 at Casa Del Mar Hotel, Santa Monica, California

Community Service Awards/Honorees

  • “Law Practice Rising Stars & Entrepreneurs” – Jean Murrell Adams, Esq.
  • “Law Practice Rising Stars & Entrepreneurs” – Nedy A. Williams, Esq.
  • “Law Practice Rising Stars & Entrepreneurs” – Julianna Yasinski-Edwards, Esq.”Outstanding Leadership in the Community” – Ivie, McNeill & Wyatt
  • “Corporate Practice Excellence” – Avis Frazier-Thomas, Esq.

Scholarship Recipients

  • Tiosha Nichole Murray (Whittier Law School)
  • Antoinette Robinson (Whittier Law School)
  • Baxter Scholarship – W. Cheryl Robinson (Ventura College of Law)
  • Asia D. Sanders (Whittier Law School)
  • Cecelia Valentine (UCLA School of Law)

Major Sponsors

  • The DirecTV Group;
  • Washington Mutual;
  • Alschuler Grossman Stein & Kahan LLP;
  • Skadden Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP;
  • Baxter Healthcare Corporation

Additional Sponsors

BWLF President Brenda Johns Penny
BWL, Inc President Sharon K. Brown
Scholarship Selection Committee Kelly Bey-Lind and Karen Pointer
Silent Auction Committee Banch Abegaze, Shimea Anderson, April D. Armstron
Event Planning Committee Chair: Carla Durham Pittman; Co-chairs – Tangela Terry and Victoria King; Wilma J. Pinder, Rachel D. Young, Dianne Baquet Smith; Yvette D. Roland, Patsy J. Cobb, Brenda Johns Penny
Invocation/Benediction Rev. Brenda Lamothe
Mistress/Master of Ceremonies Maura Gale (Actress, Author, Evangelist and Poet)