skip to Main Content
Contact us today at

25th Anniversary Scholarship Fundraiser, Saturday, May 6, 2000

Honoring Our Past Celebrating Our Future — ‘Still I Rise’…
Saturday, May 6, 2000 at the Beverly Hills Hotel, Beverly Hills, California

Community Service Awards/Honorees

  • Millennium Award Recipient – The Honorable Vaino Spencer, Presiding Justice, California Court of Appeal, 2nd District
  • Silver Anniversary Award Recipient – Sylvia Drew Ivie, Executive Director, T.H.E. Clinic, Inc.
  • Silver Anniversary Award Recipient – Wanda K. Denson-Low, Vice President and General Counsel, Hughes Space and Communications Company
  • Silver Anniversary Award Recipients – James Fugate and Thomas Hamilton, co-owners, Eso Won Books
  • Silver Anniversary Award Recipient – Dr. Tedd Davis, Founder and Director, California Dance Center

Scholarship Recipients

  • Chekwube Chike Amobi (University of West L.A. School of Law) – $2,400.00
  • Daphne Pierre Bishop ((UCLA School of Law) – $2,400.00
  • Eric T. Burton (UCLA School of Law) – $2,400.00
  • Bianca A. Poindexter (Loyola Law School) – $2,400.00
  • Carmen Denise Snuggs (Loyola Law School) – $2,400.00

Major Sponsors

  • Gold Circle Sponsor: Hughes Space and Communications Company;
  • Silver Circle Sponsor: Wanda and Ronald Low Family Fund

Additional Sponsors

  • Underwriters: Jones Day Revis & Pogue;
  • Northrop Grumman; Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLP;
  • Benefactors: Anheuser Busch Companies;
  • Countrywide Home Loans, Inc.;
  • Northern Trust Bank of California;
  • Kaiser Foundation Health Plan, Inc.;
  • Kirkland & Ellis;
  • The Law Offices of Ephriam and Makupson;
  • Pillsbury Madison & Sutro LLP; Michael W. Sales;
  • Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LP;
  • Universal Studios;
  • WATTSHealth Systems, Inc.;
  • Walt Disney Company


BWLF President Brenda Johns Penny
BWL, Inc President Adrienne M. Byers
Invocation/Benediction Dr. Charles Brown
Mistress/Master of Ceremonies Phil LaMarr (Actor and Host, “Mad TV”)